BIT Loggia

24th Sports Day

BIT Sathy - 24th Sports Day

The 24th Annual Sports Day of Bannari Amman Institute of Technology was celebrated on 06 March 2020 at the college ground. Dr C Palanisamy, Principal, presided over the function. In his address, he appreciated the students for their incremental changes in academics, co-curricular and extracurricular activities. He opined that when students participate in sports, they learn to tackle difficult situations in their life. He also wished the students to achieve greater heights in future. Thiru C Radha Krishnan, General Manager, Bannari Amman Sugars, Sathyamangalam, was the Chief Guest of the occasion. Ms S Saranya Devi, IV year, B Tech, Bio Technology, Women Sports Secretary welcomed the gathering and Dr R Jeyaraman, Physical Director, presented the Annual Sports Report for the year 2019 – 2020. Dr K Amirthavalli, Physical Directress, presented the winners and awardees of the 24th Annual Sports Events. The institute achieved Second Place in overall Games and Sports Achievements for the year 2019-2020 among the zone – 12 Colleges of Anna University, Chennai. The Overall Championship in women section was won by Ms K Kavya and men section by Mr V Manikanda Prabhu. Ms T R S Dhakshinya, III B Tech, IT and Mr S Sri Vishnu Prabha, III BE EEE represented for Anna University Women Chess Team secured Bronze Medal in the All India Inter University Tournament held at Kallinga Institute of Industrial Technology, Bhubaneswar and fourth place in the South Zone Inter University Tournament held at Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur, Andra Pradesh. The Institute organized 33rd Tamilnadu State Open Junior Championship 2019, between 6th and 8th October 2019, more than 3000 participants from all over Tamilnadu participated. Dr C Sylendra Babu, IPS, DGP Railways and Padmashri Shiny Wilson, Olympian graced this championship as Chief Guests. The Institute is the Anna University 12 Sports Coordinating Centre for this academic year. The Men Sports Secretary of the college Mr M Suraj Kumar of IV BE Mechatronics Engineering proposed the Vote of Thanks. March Fast and Silambam by the students attracted the audience.